Department of Exercise Sciences


Our staff

The Department of Exercise Sciences has internationally recognised scholars on staff that are committed to the University's mandate of producing high quality research and teaching.

Academic Staff


Title
Academic Qualifications Position

Name

Phone Ext E-mail
Associate Professor TTC Ardmore, DipPE Otago, MSc Wyoming, PhD Penn State University Head of Department Greg Anson 82975  g.anson@auckland.ac.nz
Professor BHK Windsor, MSc PhD Simon Fraser University Deputy Head of Department Winston Byblow 86844  w.byblow@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor  MSc AUT, PhD University of Auckland   Lynley Bradnam 84102  lynley.bradnam@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor BPHE Toronto, MA McGill PhD Toronto University   Heather Smith 84681 h.smith@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor MChiroSci Macquarie University NSW
MSc PhD University of Auckland
  James Stinear 82378 j.stinear@auckland.ac.nz
Associate Professor BSc(Hons), MSc, PhD Loughborough University  

Nicholas Gant

86607 n.gant@auckland.ac.nz
Dr MSc, PhD Guelph University Senior Lecturer Stacey Reading 83766 s.reading@auckland.ac.nz
Dr BS Shanghai Jiao Tong, PhD Texas Tech Senior Lecturer Yanxin Zhang 86859 or 82560  yanxin.zhang@auckland.ac.nz
Dr BSc(Hons) & PhD University of Auckland Senior Lecturer Graeme Carrick-Ranson 86849 g.ranson@auckland.ac.nz
Dr BTech Biomed, (Hons), PhD University of Auckland Lecturer Angus McMorland
86865 a.mcmorland@auckland.ac.nz
Dr PhD VU University Amsterdam  Lecturer Arne Nieuwenhuys 87974  a.nieuwenhuys@auckland.ac.nz
Dr BSc Biomed, MSc (First Class Honours) & PhD University of Auckland Research Fellow  Victor Borges 84677 v.borges@auckland.ac.nz
Dr B Hlth Sc (Hons), PhD University of Adelaide Research Fellow John Cirillo 87810 j.cirillo@auckland.ac.nz
Mr  MSc Professional Teaching Fellow Daniel Gordon 82120 d.gordon@auckland.ac.nz
Ms MSc, Otago  Professional Teaching Fellow  Lucy Macfarlane   lucy.macfarlane@auckland.ac.nz
Ms  MSc Professional Teaching Fellow Cindy Morrison 82540 c.morrison@auckland.ac.nz
Ms  MSc, RCEP-ACSM & CEPNZ   Professional Teaching Fellow Megan Reyden   m.reyden@auckland.ac.nz
Mr DipIT Sri Lanka Institute of Information Technology
BBiomedSci University of Otago
BSc(Hons) University of Auckland
 
Professional Teaching Fellow Waruna Weerasekera 82544

w.weerasekera@auckland.ac.nz
or
waruna.w@auckland.ac.nz

Mr  MSc Tutor  Tyler Elliott 82139 tyler.elliott@auckland.ac.nz
Ms  MSc  Tutor  Tracy Foo  84031  tracy.foo@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Professional staff


Role  Name Phone Ext E-mail
Group Services Manager  Julie Davis  82008  j.davis@auckland.ac.nz 
Group Services Team Leader   Kylie Birse  83747  k.birse@auckland.ac.nz 
Academic Services Coordinator  Kharmin Sukhia  86887  k.sukhia@auckland.ac.nz 
Group Services Coordinator/Adm  Bessie D'Sa  86825  b.dsa@auckland.ac.nz 
Clinic Administrator  Jacinth Tuazon 82540  j.tuazon@auckland.ac.nz 
Accountant Vivian Nayon 87483 v.nayon@auckland.ac.nz
Exercise Science Technician Terry Corin  85197  t.corin@auckland.ac.nz 
Exercise Physiology Technician Sivani Patel 86858

s.patel@auckland.ac.nz

Movement Neuroscience Lab Technician April Ren 84897
a.ren@auckland.ac.nz
Top

Health and Rehabilitation Clinic


Role  Name Phone Ext E-mail
Academic Programme Director Clinical Exercise Physiology Stacey Reading, MSc, PhD Guelph University 83766 s.reading@auckland.ac.nz
Professional Teaching Fellow Daniel Gordon, MSc 82120
d.gordon@auckland.ac.nz
Professional Teaching Fellow Cindy Morrison, MSc 82540 c.morrison@auckland.ac.nz
Tutor Tyler Elliott, MSc 82139

tyler.elliott@auckland.ac.nz

Tutor Tracy Foo, MSc 84031 tracy.foo@auckland.ac.nz 
Clinic Administrator  Jacinth Tuazon  82540  j.tuazon@auckland.ac.nz 
Top